It’s Been Fun!

When I started writing my blog, Five Senses, in November 2007, I wanted to share what I had learned during my professional pastry days many years ago. I wanted to bring my readers into the mind of a pastry chef and cover topics that were typically on people’s minds about how pastry chefs performed some of their “magic”. Based on the comments that I have received from many of my articles, it looks like I had hit the right note with the topics that I’ve covered. I’ve also met some soon to be pastry chefs and aspiring home bakers as well. It has certainly been a fulfilling journey.

The volume of work in my present career has increased to the point where it has been difficult to put time towards updating my blog. In what I had thought would be a short lived experiment (I thought I wouldn’t last more than two months!) had turned into an 11 month engagement with my readers on the topic of professional pastry. It has definitely been fun but it is time to put away my pen and focus on other aspects of my life. As such, this will be my last blog entry.

To all my gracious readers who took the time to comment on my articles, I thank you tremendously. To the few who have stuck with me and have contributed to some of my content, I am eternally grateful. I wish everyone the best of luck in their pastry journey and to never give up their dreams of making it big.

Au revoir et à bientôt!

20 Responses to “It’s Been Fun!”

  1. Crankster Says:

    I will REALLY miss reading your blog, P.

  2. stickofachef Says:

    Hi Crankster,

    Thanks for dropping by. Although I won’t be blogging myself, I will still be an avid reader of your fabulous blog. You always hit the nail on its head with your incisive views on the political scene in Malaysia. 😀

  3. melena Says:

    Awwwww! this is so sad! I have so enjoyed reading your blog. it’s not very often one gets to read a professional chef’s blog! Could you onsider a ‘once-in-a-while’ post? Your blogs has been so insightful. Sigh

  4. tellaure Says:

    ditto on the other two comments above.

    but all the same, good luck in your future endeavours! (:

  5. stickofachef Says:

    Thanks Melena and Tellaure for your kind words. I will consider a ‘once-in-a-while post’ if I have anything interesting to write in the future.

    Wishing you all the best.

  6. Crankster Says:

    Hahaha. That’s so sweet of you. Didn’t know you were interested in Malaysian politics. Can’t imagine why!

    Hope to see the occasional post from you though. I’ve got some of my colleagues hooked on your stuff. Just looking at some of the photos is enough to make a grown woman hungry. 😉

  7. stickofachef Says:

    Hi Crankster,

    Malaysia is in such an unfortunate situation politically, it’s hard to ignore it. Very much like you, I have strong opinions about the Malaysian political scene as well.

    The next time you make it down to Singapore, I’ll make sure to introduce you to the pastry scene here. It’s so much more vibrant than KL’s. 🙂

  8. TP Says:

    Hey Peter!

    Awwww….

    But, I do understand your need to be free of a commitment such as this. I, myself, have completely stopped taking cake orders (except for one outstanding wedding order); I was feeling burned out. Yep. It’s all about priorities and making a bit more time for ourselves.

    Like your other readers, I would be crossing my fingers and hoping to find an occasional post from you. All your posts have been gratefully appreciated. Thank you.

    TP

  9. stickofachef Says:

    Hi TP!

    It’s been great fun blogging over the last year. I’m glad you understand my situation. I’m just glad I have been able to touch so many readers from around the world. It’s definitely been a rewarding experience for me and I will do that occasional post sometime in the future.

    Give me a shout if you are ever in Singapore! 🙂

  10. Crankshaft Says:

    Awww. I’d love that. And I’ve been looking out for fondue places since you mentioned it that day. 🙂

  11. Cedric Says:

    Hmmm … then where can i find help next time ? ( sorry sounds abit spoilt ha ha ) but pls do just update once in while when u r free … it had been a great help to me , thanks for everything so far n all the help n advice given , had since intro some of my classmates n juniors to this blog too 🙂 Just once more … thanks alot , been great knowing u , chef 🙂

  12. stickofachef Says:

    Hi Cedric,

    I thank you for dispensing advice to my readers as well. Your keen perspectives were always appreciated and most helpful.

    I am always available if you ever need help. You know how to reach me personally so don’t hesitate to contact me anytime. 🙂

    I wish you all the best in your pursuit to become an established pastry chef. You certainly have the passion for it!

    All the best.

  13. Cedric Says:

    Oh ok , thanks 🙂 will miss your posting and all the best in what u be doing and take care.

  14. NoviceCook Says:

    Excellent job Chef,
    Thank you very much for all your advice and input. This is a sad news to all of us.

  15. stickofachef Says:

    Hi NoviceCook,

    Appreciate your kind words. It’s been a great journey for me and I’m really happy I’ve had the opportunity to reach out to dear readers like yourself. I do plan on writing an occasional blog entry from time to time so I do hope you will continue to stay tuned.

    Wishing you all the best!

  16. breadpitt Says:

    hi…i just bump by during my holiday while doing web search… a compliment for you from me to share such a useful information , im a pastry commis as well , i understand those work load in pastry kitchen its some time to heavy until cant manage a little extra time to blog…;-)

    • stickofachef Says:

      Hi breadpitt,

      Thanks for dropping by and for your kind words. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

      I’ve had a look at your blog as well. You do some beautiful pastry work. You are certainly talented. I hope your customers appreciate the level of effort you put into your work as much as they enjoy eating your creations.

      I must admit that there is a limited pool of talent in Malaysia with your level of skills to create quality French pastries and cakes. You are fortunate enough to possess this skill and I hope you will move up far in your career to the ultimate post of an executive pastry chef someday in the near future.

      Best wishes to you and your career ahead!

  17. breadpitt Says:

    btw…do you mind if ask where are you working…! thanks to your compliment chef…;-) i wont be this far if its not a master mind behind me who thought me a more authentic kinda patisserie…..malaysia actually do had talent patissier but been travel to other places..;-) so far what i saw is that …..not many people appreciate the effort of a entrement gateaux …im going to write about the thoughts of my own on the issue anatomy of entrement gateaux you post up before…will link to your blog;-)……again…felt that its wasted since you have stop blogging;-)….do chef had face book? add me at koichong8@hotmail.com

  18. Baby coupons free Says:

    Hmmm … then where can i find help next time ? ( sorry sounds abit spoilt ha ha ) but pls do just update once in while when u r free … it had been a great help to me , thanks for everything so far n all the help n advice given , had since intro some of my classmates n juniors to this blog too Just once more … thanks alot , been great knowing u , chef
    +1

    • stickofachef Says:

      Hi,

      I’m glad you like my blog. I’ve been getting quite a few requests so I may come up with some updated blog entries sometime in the future. In the meantime, I do wish you luck in your baking adventures.

      Cheers!

Comments are closed.


