Gunther’s – Singapore

It’s always heartening to see dear friends that you haven’t seen in years. You know they are special when you have the opportunity to see them again and you pick up where you left off just as if you just saw them yesterday. Such was what happened over the last two days when one of our close friends from Beijing came to visit my wife and I in Singapore.

My idea of a good time is to have a nice tranquil meal with friends over chatter about anything and everything in life. Special friends require special treatment so with our close friend in town, I had decided to book a lunch date at Gunther’s. My wife and I had wanted to try Gunther’s ever since they opened in August 2007 but never really found the opportunity to book a seating until this special occasion. We were not disappointed.

The interior of Gunther’s was very elegant and surprisingly quite small. The atmosphere exuded a feeling of coziness with a touch of warmth from the friendly and informed waiting staff. The maître d’ was impeccably dressed and well mannered and it heightened my expectations for only good things to come.

We were given our menus and we listened intently to the waiter’s announcement of the daily specials. Ultimately, we decided on the lunch set menu at S$38++ consisting of a choice of 3 starters, 3 main courses, a dessert, and coffee or tea.

We were served some wonderful warm crusty bread. Being a bread lover, I must have eaten 3 to 4 bread servings over the course of my meal. For my meal, I chose a cream of pumpkin soup as a starter with a provençal tart as my main. My wife chose a caesar’s salad for her starter with a char-grilled steak with mesclun salad for her main. Our friend chose a smoked salmon salad starter with a pan-fried threadfin main course.

My cream of pumpkin soup arrived piping hot. The soup had nice body but I found the taste slightly weak in pumpkin flavor. Nevertheless, it was still enjoyable. I leaned over and poked my fork in my wife’s caesar’s salad and found the lettuce to be firm, crispy with a wonderfully light and flavorful dressing. My friend mentioned her starter was excellent as well. It was a good beginning to our meal.

When our mains arrived, the waiting staff got our orders mixed up between the three of us. We were rather surprised at this confusion since the waiter who took our order down had written the orders according to the seating arrangement at our table. With some quick finger pointing to direct the proper dish to the appropriate person, we were finally settled in the start of our main course.

A vegetarian dish, my provençal tart was made up of a piece of triangular phyllo pastry topped by lightly grilled vegetables. The construction of the dish was based on a phyllo pastry acting as a container for the grilled vegetables and, although the phyllo pastry was a bit on the oily side, the whole dish was tasty with the natural flavor of the grilled vegetables retained in each bite. My wife’s char-grilled steak was just slightly overdone and not grilled to medium as she had requested. Nevertheless, the steak was very well seasoned with salt and pepper and was tender and juicy. I practically lapped up the residual steak juices with pieces of crusty bread from my side plate. Our friend mentioned her pan-fried threadfin was also nicely done.

Our meal ended off with mille feuille with a praline flavored pastry cream, canelés, small chunks of Manjari chocolate, and spoonfuls of vanilla infused chantilly cream drizzled with salty caramel. It was a nice ending to a very satisfying meal.

Despite some hiccups during our meal, the mistakes were not large enough to distract us from the quality of the meal. Gunther’s light touch to his dishes provides balance and harmony in his execution. Definitely good value and good quality for Gunther’s set lunch menu.

Gunther’s
36 Purvis Street, #01-03
Singapore 188613

Tel: +65-6338-8955
Fax: +65-6337-3770
Email: restaurant@gunthers.com.sg
Website:
http://www.gunthers.com.sg

Opening Hours:
Opening from Monday to Saturday
Closed on Sundays
Noon – 3pm
6:30pm – 11:30pm

Tags: , , ,


